Thursday, April 23, 2009

2009 Sobey Art Award - Longlist Announced

Organizers of the $70,000 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s pre-eminent prize for contemporary Canadian art, have announced the longlist of 25 artists selected by the Curatorial Panel.

We are pleased that our gallery artist Sarah Anne Johnson has been selected!

Kia and the Moon, 2005

Rhonda Weppler & Trevor Mahovsky; Luanne Martineau; Keith Langergraber; Evan Lee; Julie York

Paul Butler; Marcel Dzama; Sarah Anne Johnson; Jon Pylypchuk; Althea Thauberger

Shary Boyle; Christian Giroux & Daniel Young; Luis Jacob; Kelly Richardson; Derek Sullivan

David Altmejd; Raphaëlle de Groot; Manon De Pauw; Pascal Grandmaison; Adad Hannah

Alexandra Flood; Tara K. Wells; Ilan Sandler; Graeme Patterson; Joe McKay

The shortlist for the 2009 Sobey Art Award will be announced on May 1, 2009. Selected work from the shortlisted artists will be featured in an exhibition at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia running September 5 to November 5, 2009. The winner will be announced during a gala event at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on October 15, 2009.

The 2009 Sobey Art Award Curatorial Panel comprises: Liz Wylie, Curator, Kelowna Art Gallery; Kitty Scott, Director, Visual Arts, The Banff Centre; Ivan Jurakic, Curator, Cambridge Galleries; Louise Déry, Director/Curator, Galerie de l'Université du Québec à Montréal; Terry Graff, Curator and Deputy Director, Beaverbrook Art Gallery.

No comments: